[Streaming] Wilco – “Me Avivé”


Últimamente, Wilco está en boca de todos principalmente por el buen concierto que dieron recientemente en el Primavera Sound. Hoy vuelven a ser noticias al haberse marcado esta versión de “Dawned on Me”, tema de su último trabajo The Whole Love (2011), en el que idioma en que ustedes están leyendo ésto.

Y es que Jeff Tweedy y compañía no se manejan mal en nuestro idioma. Eso sí, no sé hasta qué punto consideraban aceptable trastocar el significado inicial de su canción, puesto que la versión en español calca la traducción dejando a un lado significados figurativos (más allá del título de la canción, “Me Avivé”, que sí que puede ser una traducción bastante válida).

Un guiño a nuestra cultura por parte de Wilco y una anécdota dentro de su dilatada carrera. Podéis escuchar “Me Avivé” aquí abajo.

 

2 Respuestas a “[Streaming] Wilco – “Me Avivé”

  1. “…dejando a un lado significados figurativos…” Can you give some examples of what you mean? I don’t really think there’s much figurative langauge in the English version of the song.

    “…’Me Avivé’ que sí que puede ser una traducción bastante válida)…” I actually didn’t think that was a good translation. It doesn’t capture the ‘accidental’ sense of what is meant in English when we say that something ‘dawns on’ somebody. The person isn’t the do-er; it’s something that happens to them.

    I’m interested in hearing your feedback, when you have a second. Thanks!

    • I just compared English lyrics with Spanish lyrics. The translation is quite literal from English to Spanish, such a point that in Spanish sometimes sounds weird. I didn’t refer to the figurative language in the original version. An example.
      – English version:
      “I’ve been young, I’ve been old,
      i’m been hurt, and consoled,
      Heart of cold, heart of gold…”
      – Spanish translation:
      “He sido joven y viejo,
      me han dañado y consolado.
      Corazón de cartón y oro…”
      It’s nearly literal. For that reason I wanted to point out the choice of the song title, that is not literal, but keeps the concept of “Dawned on me” in my opinion. “Me avivé” comes from the verb “avivar”, that it means “stoke up”. It’s like a spark lighting up inside when you get an idea appeared out of nowhere.
      What do you think it would be the best translation for “Dawned on me”? I would like to know your opinion 🙂

Responder

